Premiere: Excons Reload on Latest Single "I Know How The Rich Live"

South Carolina jangle rockers Excons return this week with new album Sea Shanties — and we’ve got the premiere for lead single “I Know How The Rich Live” below. A late-night rendezvous with shades of psychedelia and blues rock, the band finds themselves on a darker path compared to their previous releases.

Says frontman John Byce: “In the summer of 1934 Gershwin and Heyward went to Folly Beach for inspiration to write the music for Porgy and Bess. “How the Rich Live” is an updated version of “Summertime” for the modern age. We all want “the good life” and define it by what we see posted on our devices. But is there an app to help me feel human?”

Find the nautical album artwork and tracklist below — and don’t miss Excons’ record release party for Sea Shanties this Friday, March 1st at Horizon Records.

RIYL: Kurt Vile, My Morning Jacket, Phish



1) Romans of the Modern Age

2) I Know How The Rich Live

3) Clutching Fists

4) Loss of Power

5) Sailor

6) Frontline

7) Corrected Posture

8) Handstand

9) Lowlights